Emigrate To Turkey
Emigrate To Turkey

Izmir — International Schools

International Schools in Izmir (2026):
The Expat Family's Complete Guide

Izmir has around six schools with genuine IB, Cambridge, German, or French-curriculum options — smaller than Istanbul's selection, but 10–20% cheaper on like-for-like fees. Real published tuition, locations, and enrolment steps, sourced directly from the schools.

Need help with international schools in izmir?

Family · Ask the Turkey assistant

Watch the videoBest International Schools in İzmir 🎓 Complete Guide for Expat Families

Quick Answer

Izmir has about six schools with recognised international curricula — MEF International School Izmir (Cambridge + IB Diploma), American Collegiate Institute, Işıkkent Education Campus, and Deutsche Schule Izmir (all IB Diploma authorised), plus TED Izmir College (Turkish curriculum + AP electives) and Saint-Joseph French High School (French Baccalaureate-equivalent). MEF Izmir's published 2025–26 fees run $17,870–$38,860/year including VAT — roughly 10–20% below its own Istanbul campus, depending on grade. Schools are spread across Gaziemir, Urla, Konak, Alsancak, and Bornova rather than clustered in one district. Apply as early as possible; the IB Diploma years fill fastest.

Last updated July 2026·Bartu Cavusoglu

The Six Schools With Real International Curricula in Izmir

Many Izmir private schools describe themselves as "international" or "bilingual" simply because they teach intensive English. The six below are the ones with an independently verifiable foreign or IB curriculum, accreditation, and (in most cases) foreign-language instruction beyond an English subject.

MEF International School Izmir

3–18

Curriculum: Cambridge (Primary, Checkpoint, IGCSE) + IB Diploma Programme (grades 11–12)

Location: Gaziemir  |  Fees: $17,870–$38,860/yr (2025–26, incl. 10% VAT)

Izmir's only CIS- and NEASC-accredited full international school. IB-authorised since 2022, with IB Diploma taught in the final two years only — younger grades follow Cambridge, not IB PYP/MYP. Fees are invoiced in US dollars.

American Collegiate Institute (ACI)

5–18

Curriculum: Turkish National Curriculum (K–8, via SEV) + IB Diploma Programme (grades 11–12)

Location: Konak / Göztepe  |  Fees: Lira-denominated; not published — contact admissions for a current quote

Founded 1878, Izmir's oldest private school and the first IB-authorised school in the Aegean region (2005). CIS-accredited since 1994. Offers boarding (separate girls' and boys' residences).

Işıkkent Education Campus

~3–18

Curriculum: Full IB continuum — PYP (primary) + MYP (middle school) + Diploma Programme (grades 11–12)

Location: Bornova (Yeşilova)  |  Fees: Not publicly disclosed — contact admissions

The only school in the Aegean Region authorised for all three IB programmes (PYP–MYP–DP) from preschool through Grade 12 — unlike Izmir's other IB schools, which only teach the IB Diploma in the final two years. Boarding facility in operation since 2012, unusual for an Izmir school.

Deutsche Schule Izmir (German School Izmir)

2–19

Curriculum: German curriculum + bilingual German–English IB Diploma (GIB)

Location: Urla  |  Fees: Not publicly disclosed — contact admissions

Government-recognised German international school (holds the "Excellent German School Abroad" seal). Leads to German school-leaving qualifications and, since 2016, a bilingual IB Diploma track. Best fit for German-speaking families.

TED Izmir College

3–18 (Pre-K–12)

Curriculum: Turkish National Curriculum + AP electives (Calculus, Physics, Biology, Art & Design)

Location: Urla  |  Fees: Lira-denominated; not published — contact admissions

Founded 2014, part of the nationwide TED Koleji network. Graduates receive the Turkish Anadolu Lisesi diploma, not an IB or foreign diploma — AP courses supplement rather than replace it.

Saint-Joseph French High School (Özel Saint-Joseph Fransız Lisesi)

Secondary only (~14–18)

Curriculum: French–Turkish bilingual, French Baccalaureate-equivalent diploma

Location: Alsancak  |  Fees: Lira-denominated; not published — contact admissions

Founded 1880; the only foreign-curriculum high school in the Aegean region. Instruction split between French and Turkish, with a diploma recognised for higher education in Türkiye, France, and elsewhere.

MEF International School Izmir: Real Published Fees by Grade (2025–26)

MEF is the only Izmir international school that publishes a full, itemised fee schedule. Figures below are from the school's own 2025–2026 tuition document, in US dollars, VAT included.

Grade LevelAnnual Fee (incl. VAT)
Early Years Reception 1 & 2$17,870
Kindergarten$24,865
Primary School (Grades 1–5)$33,095
Middle School (Grades 6–7)$34,180
Middle School (Grade 8)$34,895
High School (Grades 9–12)$37,680
IB Diploma — Year 1$37,840
IB Diploma — Year 2$38,860

On top of these figures, new applicants pay a one-time $1,250 application fee and a one-time $3,500 registration fee. All students (new and returning) also pay an annual "placement fee" of $4,000–$6,000 depending on grade, on top of tuition. Fees are payable in US dollars only.

Izmir vs Istanbul: Same School Group, Real Fee Comparison

Because MEF International Schools operates in both cities on an identical fee structure, its 2025–26 published rates give a rare, directly comparable, same-brand benchmark — rather than an estimate.

Scroll to see full table
Grade LevelMEF IzmirMEF IstanbulIzmir SavingKindergarten$24,865$30,980~20%Primary (Grades 1–5)$33,095$38,525~14%Middle School (Grades 6–7)$34,180$39,740~14%Middle School (Grade 8)$34,895$39,960~13%High School (Grades 9–12 / 9–11)$37,680$41,675–$42,705~10%IB Diploma (Years 1–2)$37,840–$38,860$41,825–$42,840~9%

The saving narrows the further a child progresses — from roughly 20% at Kindergarten to under 10% by the IB Diploma years. Treat any "Izmir is half the price of Istanbul" claim with caution; at this one directly comparable school group, it isn't.

Enrolment Step-by-Step for Expat Families

1. Research and shortlist by curriculum, not just reputation

Decide whether you actually need a full IB Diploma pathway, a German or French track, or are comfortable with the Turkish national diploma plus AP electives. This narrows six schools to two or three fast — most families over-index on "international-sounding" names without checking what diploma the child will actually leave with.

2. Apply early — ideally 6–12 months ahead

IB Diploma entry (grade 11) and popular kindergarten intake years fill fastest. For September entry, most admissions processes start in the preceding autumn or winter. Apply to more than one school in parallel rather than waiting on a single decision.

3. Gather documents

Passport copies, birth certificate (apostilled and translated if issued abroad), previous school records (apostilled and translated into Turkish), vaccination certificate, a Turkish tax number for the parent/guardian, and evidence of ikamet (residence permit) or an active application. Arrange certified Turkish translations well in advance — this step is the most common source of delay.

4. Confirm the fee currency and full cost before committing

Ask explicitly whether tuition is billed in US dollars, euros, or Turkish lira, and whether the figure you're quoted already includes VAT, the annual "placement fee," food, transport, and uniforms. At MEF, for example, tuition, VAT, application fee, registration fee, and placement fee are four separate line items — a headline "tuition" figure alone understates the real annual cost.

5. Attend the entry assessment or interview

Most schools run an age-appropriate entry assessment — informal and play-based for young children, language- and maths-based for secondary entry. Non-Turkish-speaking children are generally assessed on learning potential rather than current Turkish ability.

6. Accept the place and pay the registration/placement fees

These are typically one-time, non-refundable charges due immediately on confirmation of a place (at MEF: a $1,250 application fee and $3,500 registration fee for new students, before annual tuition). Review the enrolment contract's fee-increase clause carefully — continuing-student increases are often capped by an inflation-linked government formula, but new-student fees are not.

7. Arrange school transport

School buses (servis) are the default in Turkey and are billed separately from tuition. Register for the bus route at the same time as enrolment, and confirm the route actually covers your street before signing a lease in a specific neighbourhood.

Which School Fits Your Family?

If you...

Want the strongest, most internationally accredited option

Best fit

MEF International School Izmir (Gaziemir)

CIS- and NEASC-accredited, Cambridge curriculum through secondary with an authorised IB Diploma in the final two years. The highest fees on this page, invoiced in US dollars.

If you...

Want German curriculum or an Abitur-track diploma

Best fit

Deutsche Schule Izmir (Urla)

Government-recognised German international school with a bilingual German–English IB Diploma track since 2016. Best fit for German-speaking families relocating with children already in a German school system.

If you...

Want a French Baccalaureate-equivalent track

Best fit

Saint-Joseph French High School (Alsancak)

The only foreign-curriculum high school of its kind in the Aegean region, teaching in French and Turkish. Secondary only — not an option for primary-age children.

If you...

Want boarding for a child

Best fit

American Collegiate Institute or Işıkkent Education Campus

Both run dedicated boarding facilities — ACI has separate girls' and boys' residences; Işıkkent has operated boarding since 2012. Neither MEF, TED Izmir, nor Deutsche Schule Izmir offer boarding.

If you...

Want a Turkish diploma with some AP electives, at Turkish-lira pricing

Best fit

TED Izmir College (Urla) or ACI (Konak/Göztepe)

Graduates receive the standard Turkish Anadolu Lisesi diploma. TED Izmir layers AP courses on top; ACI's IB Diploma track (grades 11–12) is the closer international option of the two.

If you...

Open to a Turkish state school plus private tutoring

Best fit

A state ilkokul/ortaokul near your home, plus private English or exam tutoring

Free of charge, teaches entirely in Turkish, and is the fastest route to conversational Turkish for younger children — see our guide to enrolling children in school in Turkey for the registration process.

Common Mistakes Expat Families Make When Choosing Schools in Izmir

  • Assuming any school branded "international," "IB," or "bilingual" runs the full IB continuum — MEF, ACI, and Deutsche Schule Izmir only teach the IB Diploma in the final two years, not IB PYP/MYP for younger children; Işıkkent Education Campus is the one Izmir exception with the full PYP–MYP–DP continuum.
  • Comparing a headline tuition figure without checking the fee currency — MEF Izmir bills strictly in US dollars, which changes your real cost as the exchange rate moves.
  • Forgetting the one-time application and registration fees, and the separate annual "placement fee" — these can add several thousand dollars on top of the published tuition figure.
  • Assuming a school with historic American or French heritage (like ACI or Saint-Joseph) issues an American or French national diploma — check exactly which diploma graduates actually receive.
  • Not verifying IB authorisation status directly — check the school finder at ibo.org rather than relying on a school's own marketing.
  • Waiting until arrival in Izmir to start school research — the IB Diploma years and popular kindergarten intakes fill up months in advance.
  • Overlooking translation and apostille requirements for foreign school records — all foreign documents need certified Turkish translation before enrolment.

International Schools in Izmir

Real listings are being onboarded.

We're building a curated directory of verified private schools in Izmir. Nothing here is a placeholder ad — every listing that appears is a real, reviewed business.

Own or run a private schools business in Izmir?

Get in front of thousands of people actively planning their move to Turkey — tell us about your business below.

Family guide

Family Relocation Turkey Guide

Moving with children? Get the family preparation guide.

€29

one-time · no subscription

School comparison chart

Family-friendly areas ranked

Childcare options

Child healthcare guide

Dependent permits explained

School registration steps

Activities for children

Family paperwork checklist

Secure checkout via Stripe. Instant confirmation after payment.

25+ pages10 chapters4 checklists2 worksheetsInstant downloadSecure Stripe checkoutOne-time payment

Frequently Asked Questions

How many international schools are there in Izmir?

Izmir has around six schools with genuinely recognised international or foreign curricula: MEF International School Izmir (Cambridge + IB Diploma), American Collegiate Institute / ACI (IB Diploma), Işıkkent Education Campus (full IB continuum — PYP, MYP, and Diploma Programme), Deutsche Schule Izmir (German curriculum + bilingual IB), TED Izmir College (Turkish National Curriculum + AP electives), and Saint-Joseph French High School (French Baccalaureate-equivalent). Beyond these, there are many more private Turkish schools ("Anadolu Lisesi" or "Koleji") that market themselves as bilingual because they teach intensive English, without following a foreign or IB curriculum. Izmir's pool is far smaller than Istanbul's 20+ international schools, but it covers the main curriculum families expat parents look for.

What curriculum options are available at international schools in Izmir?

Options in Izmir: (1) IB Diploma Programme (grades 11–12) at MEF International School Izmir, ACI, and Deutsche Schule Izmir — none of these three currently run the full IB continuum for younger grades; IB only starts in the final two years. Işıkkent Education Campus is the exception — it's authorised for the full IB continuum (PYP, MYP, and the Diploma Programme) from preschool through Grade 12, the only school in the Aegean region to hold all three. (2) Cambridge International — Primary Cambridge, Cambridge Checkpoint, and IGCSE at MEF for grades before the IB Diploma. (3) German curriculum with a bilingual IB track — Deutsche Schule Izmir, government-recognised, leads to German school-leaving qualifications. (4) French Baccalaureate-equivalent — Saint-Joseph French High School, the only foreign-curriculum school of its kind in the Aegean region. (5) Turkish National Curriculum with AP electives — TED Izmir College, whose graduates receive the standard Turkish Anadolu Lisesi diploma rather than a foreign one. If a globally portable diploma is the priority, IB Diploma or the German Abitur-track are the strongest options; verify authorisation status directly on the IB's own school finder at ibo.org before enrolling.

What do international schools in Izmir actually cost?

The only school that publishes a full, itemised fee schedule is MEF International School Izmir. For the 2025–2026 academic year (its official published rates, in US dollars, including 10% VAT): Early Years Reception $17,870; Kindergarten $24,865; Primary (grades 1–5) $33,095; Middle School (grades 6–7) $34,180; Middle School (grade 8) $34,895; High School (grades 9–12) $37,680; IB Year 1 $37,840; IB Year 2 $38,860. On top of tuition, new applicants also pay a one-time $1,250 application fee and a one-time $3,500 registration fee, plus an annual, non-tuition "placement fee" of $4,000–$6,000 (paid by new and returning students alike). Fees are invoiced strictly in US dollars, not lira or euros. ACI, Işıkkent, Deutsche Schule Izmir, TED Izmir, and Saint-Joseph do not publish comparable fee schedules publicly — request a current-year quote directly from each admissions office rather than relying on any figure you find online, since Turkish private-school tuition has been rising sharply.

Is there an American school in Izmir?

Not in the sense of a full US-curriculum school leading to an American high school diploma. American Collegiate Institute (ACI) was founded in 1878 by American educators and carries "American" in its name and heritage, but it now runs the Turkish National Curriculum through grade 8 and the IB Diploma Programme (not AP/US curriculum) in grades 11–12. TED Izmir College offers a handful of AP courses (Calculus, Physics, Biology, Art & Design) as electives layered on top of the Turkish national diploma, but its students graduate with a standard Turkish Anadolu Lisesi diploma, not an American one. Families who specifically need a US-accredited diploma should look at Istanbul, which has dedicated American-curriculum schools, or consider an accredited US online/distance programme alongside local schooling.

In which areas of Izmir are international schools located?

The verified locations: MEF International School Izmir is in Gaziemir, near Adnan Menderes Airport, south of the city centre. Deutsche Schule Izmir and TED Izmir College are both in Urla, a coastal district to the west. American Collegiate Institute (ACI) is in Konak/Göztepe, close to the city centre. Saint-Joseph French High School is in Alsancak, also central. Işıkkent Education Campus is in Bornova (Yeşilova neighbourhood). This is more spread out than the "everything clusters in Bornova/Karşıyaka" picture sometimes given — check your specific school's exact address against your planned neighbourhood before assuming a short commute, and always confirm the school bus (servis) covers your street.

At what age can children start international school in Izmir?

Most schools accept children from age 2–3 (kindergarten/anaokulu) through 18 (lise/high school), following Turkey's general school-stage structure: anaokulu (nursery) roughly ages 3–5; ilkokul (primary) grades 1–4, roughly ages 6–9; ortaokul (middle school) grades 5–8, roughly ages 10–13; lise (high school) grades 9–12, roughly ages 14–18. Saint-Joseph French High School only takes students at secondary level. Admissions for the following September typically open several months in advance — popular schools and popular year groups (especially IB Diploma entry in grade 11) can fill early, so start the process as soon as you have a firm move date.

What documents are needed to enrol a child in an international school in Izmir?

Typical requirements: (1) the child's passport and evidence of a Turkish residence permit (ikamet) or an active application. (2) Previous school records, officially translated into Turkish and apostilled if issued outside Turkey. (3) Vaccination records (aşı kartı). (4) A Turkish tax number for the parent/guardian, which is also required for the residence permit process. (5) Completed school application forms and passport photographs. (6) For most schools, an age-appropriate entry assessment or interview — informal/play-based for younger children, language and maths-based for secondary entry. Confirm the exact list with each school directly, since requirements vary between the fully private international schools and the Turkish-curriculum schools with foreign electives.

How does Izmir compare to Istanbul for expat families with school-age children?

MEF International Schools operates in both Izmir and Istanbul, publishing directly comparable, same-brand fee schedules for 2025–2026 — a useful real-world benchmark. At Kindergarten, Izmir's $24,865 is about 20% cheaper than Istanbul's $30,980. At Primary level, Izmir's $33,095 is roughly 14% cheaper than Istanbul's $38,525. By the IB Diploma years the gap narrows to under 10% ($37,840–$38,860 in Izmir vs. $41,825–$42,840 in Istanbul). So Izmir is genuinely more affordable, but the gap is far smaller than the "half the price" reputation suggests, especially for older children. Istanbul still has a much larger school selection (20+ schools across British, American, IB, French, and German curricula) versus Izmir's roughly half-dozen options — the trade-off is choice and specialisation versus a lower cost and a more relaxed, coastal pace of life.

Are there scholarship or financial-aid options at Izmir international schools?

Some schools offer merit-based scholarships — ACI, for instance, is run by the SEV Foundation, which has historically supported scholarship students, and IB-authorised schools sometimes offer partial merit awards for strong secondary applicants. None of the schools covered here publish detailed, standing financial-aid terms online, and availability changes year to year. Treat any scholarship as something to ask each admissions office about directly for the specific year you're applying, rather than assuming a fixed percentage or guaranteed programme.

Do international-school graduates from Izmir get into good universities?

The IB Diploma — offered at MEF International School Izmir, ACI, Işıkkent Education Campus, and Deutsche Schule Izmir — is a globally recognised, university-entry qualification accepted by universities across the UK, US, Canada, the Netherlands, Germany, and elsewhere. Students on the Turkish National Curriculum track (TED Izmir College, and ACI/MEF students before their IB years) typically sit Turkey's YKS university entrance exam for domestic university entry, or add IELTS/SAT/AP results to apply abroad. Ask each school directly for its recent university-destination data before choosing, since this varies by cohort and is the most concrete evidence of outcomes.

Is Bornova Anadolu Lisesi a private option for expat families?

No — despite sometimes appearing on generic "best schools in Izmir" lists, Bornova Anadolu Lisesi is a public school run by Turkey's Ministry of National Education, not a fee-paying private or international school. It is genuinely prestigious and has taught in multiple foreign languages since the 1950s–90s, but admission runs through Türkiye's centralised LGS placement exam, taken in Turkish alongside Turkish nationals — which makes it impractical for most newly arrived expat children regardless of nationality. If you want a foreign-curriculum or bilingual education for a fee, the schools to compare are the six private ones listed on this page, not Bornova Anadolu Lisesi.

Do I need to already speak Turkish to enrol my child?

No — the private international schools (MEF, ACI, Işıkkent, Deutsche Schule Izmir) teach primarily in English or German, with Turkish taught as a subject, so non-Turkish-speaking children are admitted regularly. Entry assessments for young children are usually about learning potential, not existing Turkish ability. TED Izmir College and similar Turkish-curriculum schools with foreign electives teach most core subjects in Turkish, so a child arriving with no Turkish will need more support there. Most expat parents report that children aged roughly 3–10 become conversational in Turkish within 12–18 months of regular exposure at school, regardless of which type of school they attend.

Why are school fees invoiced in US dollars, and does that matter?

MEF International School Izmir explicitly requires payment "in US dollars only," to a USD bank account — a detail worth knowing before you budget, since it means your actual cost in euros, sterling, or lira moves with the exchange rate, not just with the published dollar figure. Other Izmir private schools typically invoice in Turkish lira. A 10% VAT applies to private education fees in Turkey, in effect since a July 2023 Official Gazette ruling, and is already included in the totals schools publish. Always ask each school which currency it bills in, and whether the year's VAT and any surcharges are already included in the number you're quoted.

How fast are Turkish private-school fees rising, and should I expect the price to change after I enrol?

Turkish private-school tuition has risen sharply in dollar terms in recent years. Entry-year fees for popular grade levels (kindergarten, grade 1, grade 5, grade 9) at some of Turkey's better-known private schools have exceeded $28,000/year, and while continuing students are typically protected by an officially published inflation-linked fee-increase cap, new applicants are not — a school can set whatever fee it likes for a newly enrolling family. Budget for annual increases at renewal, read the enrolment contract's fee-increase clause carefully before signing, and don't assume the fee you're quoted in year one will still apply by year three.

Family Relocation Turkey Guide

Moving with children? Get the family preparation guide.

25+ pages · 10 chapters · 4 checklists · 2 worksheets · Updated 2026